

Central Bedfordshire Council Priory House Monks Walk Chicksands, Shefford SG17 5TQ

> please ask for Sandra Hobbs direct line 0300 300 5257 date 16 April 2013

NOTICE OF MEETING

GENERAL PURPOSES COMMITTEE REVISED AGENDA

Date & Time Thursday, 18 April 2013 Immediately following the conclusion of the Council's Annual Meeting

Venue at Council Chamber, Priory House, Monks Walk, Shefford

> Richard Carr Chief Executive

To: The Chairman and Members of the GENERAL PURPOSES COMMITTEE: To be announced at the Council's Annual Meeting on Thursday, 18 April 2013.

MEMBERS OF THE PRESS AND PUBLIC ARE WELCOME TO ATTEND THIS MEETING

AGENDA

1. Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence and notification of substitute members

Reports

Item Subject

2. Membership of the Appointments Panel and the Employee Partnership Committee

The Committee is requested to appoint Members to the following bodies:

 (a) Appointments Panel – composed of 5 Members (4 Conservative and 1 Independent) plus 3 substitutes (2 Conservative and 1 Independent). In addition all Executive Members are on the Panel to enable the relevant Executive Member to attend an Appointments Sub-Committee. The Panel forms the body from which Members are drawn to form individual Appointments Sub-Committees.

> An Appointments Sub-Committee will be composed of 3 – 5 Members (2-4 Conservative and 1 Independent, including at least 1 Executive Member) plus 3 substitutes (2 Conservative and 1 Independent). All Members on the Sub-Committee will be appointed by the Monitoring Officer.

 (b) Employee Partnership Committee – composed of 7 Members (7 Conservative, including at least 1 Executive Member) plus 4 substitutes (4 Conservative.

Note: The membership of the above Committee and Sub-Committee comply with the political balance rules referred to in the report to the Annual Council meeting entitled 'Appointment of Members, Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen to Committees and Other Council Bodies 2013/14' (see in particular Appendix A, section A3). Page Nos.

Appendix A

General Purposes Committee Nominations

Appointments Panel	
	Cllr Fiona Chapman (C)
(5 Members + 3 substitutes, plus all	Cllr Peter Hollick (C)
the Executive Members with specific	Cllr Mrs Jane Lawrence (C)
portfolios)	Cllr Richard Stay (C)
	Cllr Julian Murray (I)
4 (2) Conservatives	
1 (1) Independent	plus Executive Members as below:
	Cllr James Jamieson
	Cllr Maurice Jones
	Cllr Mrs Carole Hegley
	Cllr Brian Spurr
	Cllr Nigel Young
	Cllr Mark Versallion
	Subs:
	Cllr Brian Saunders (C)
	Cllr Nigel Warren (C) Cllr Ian Shingler (I)
Appointments Sub-Committee	Appointed by the Monitoring Officer
	as needed from the membership of
	the Appointments Panel.
	To comprise 3-5 members (2-4
	Conservative and 1 Independent,
	including at least 1 Executive
	Member)
Employee Partnership Committee	Cllr Peter Hollick (C)
	Cllr James Jamieson (C)
(7 members + 4 substitutes)	Cllr Maurice Jones (C)
	Cllr Mrs Jane Lawrence (C)
7 (4) Conservatives	Cllr Ken Matthews (C)
	Cllr Richard Stay (C)
	Suba
	Subs:
	Cllr Fiona Chapman (C)
	Cllr Brian Saunders (C)
	Cllr Nigel Warren (C)

Page 4

This page is intentionally left blank